PO Box 917, Jasper, IN 47547


The Indiana Hunter Education Association (IHEA) was established in 1992 as a non-for-profit organization designed to promote and support the Indiana Hunter Education Program of the Indiana Department of Natural Resources Law Enforcement Division. To date, IHEA is very active in assisting the Division with many trainings, expositions, equipment purchases, programs, and more. Some of these include Indiana Becoming an Outdoor Woman, Indiana NASP, Indiana State Fair Education Booth, Treestand Safety Programs, Indiana 4-H Shooting Sports Instructor Workshops, and more. IHEA’s motto for our belief that the tradition, history, and heritage of hunting is “An Indiana Tradition…Pass it on!”

Mission Statement

…to promote hunter education by providing a medium for the exchange of views and experience; by fostering individual, federal-state, and state cooperation and coordination in mutual problems; by promoting the reciprocal recognition of properly educated hunters between districts of the state of Indiana; by cultivating characteristics of honesty, self-discipline, self-reliance, mutual consideration, essentials of good sportsmanship and good citizenship; by promoting programs to prevent hunter accidents; by upholding the image of hunting both as a legitimate tool of wildlife management and as a recreational sport throughout the state of Indiana and to carry out the effective presentation and dissemination of these purposes.


The Indiana Hunter Education Association is governed by a Board of Directors representing the ten operating districts throughout the state of Indiana. Listed below are the current Board of Directors:

District Directors

    District 1
    Joe Scott & Mark Demske

    District 2
    Doug Chapman & Paul Brant

    District 3
    Kenneth Oravsky & Barb Trenary

    District 4
    Robyn Woodruff & Roger Hosbook

    District 5
    Danny Burdine & Keith Jacks

    District 6
    Bill Jennings & Kevin Fowler

    District 7
    Jared L Beck & Tony Phillips

    District 8
    Drewey Phelps & Jay Hofmann

    District 9
    Curt Barringer

    District 10
    Ray Rausch

Executive Board

    President Jay Hofmann
    Vice President Roger Hosbrook
    Recording Secretary Jared Beck
    Treasurer/Membership Secretary Robyn Woodruff

Ex-Officio Directors

    Steve Dickover
    Jim Mahoney
    Andy Runyon
    Stephen Spencer
    Robby Woodruff

Indiana Conservation Officer Directors

    ICO Jon Cook
    ICO Ryan McCauly

    Andy Hargety
    Jim Hash

    Tony Mann